Databases and Open Access Online Resources
Discover Diverse Databases: knowledge from the global majority
This collection of databases includes resources we subscribe to as well as open access ones that cover literature and data from diverse global voices. Research has shown that dominant databases such as Scopus and Web of Science have a Global North and English language bias, so this collection is designed to encourage you to look for information from more marginalised sources to re-centre knowledge from the Global Majority. With thanks to Sally Dalton from University of Leeds Library for crowdsourcing many of recommendations in this collection. If you have suggestions of databases to include, please contact library.training@sussex.ac.uk
- Black Women Radicals DatabaseThe Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD) historizes and visualizes Black women’s radical political activism in Africa and in the African Diaspora in efforts to build academic, political, and community engagement, dialogue, knowledge production, research, and education about Black women’s significant legacies as socio-political agents of radical change. By housing a database of historical and transnational Black women activists and leaders, the BWRD seeks to overcome the erasure of Black women’s political leadership, organizing, theorizing, and socio-political movement building in Africa and in the African Diaspora that has often been ignored in favor of Black and white cis-heteronormative male charismatic leadership, especially in the field of Black Politics. BWRD serves as a vehicle to center Black women’s historical political memory, scholarship, epistemologies, and leadership in socio-political movements that may not be taught in academia and in community and public spaces. The Database is free for educational use.
The British Library for Development Studies
The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) is Europe's most comprehensive research collection on development issues. It holds over 80,000 monographs, including individual research reports, working papers and books, and over 10,000 magazine, newspaper, annual report and newsletter titles. Over 50% of the collection is published in the Global South, including many unique holdings.
Search the BLDS catalogue
BLDS printed books are located in two areas in the Library. The sequence begins in the Rolling Racking on the Ground Floor (after shelfmark Z) for authors A-N then continues in the North Basement (again after shelfmark Z).
BLDS journals are located in a Library Store and will need to be requested at the Information Hub. Please do ask staff for help with finding the resources that you need.
You will need to use your University identity card to enter the University Library and to borrow books. If you have not yet obtained this, you will need to go to the University Print Unit in Lancaster House. Information about access to library services for individuals who are not members of the University or IDS is available here: sussex.ac.uk/library/visitors
Relevant blog posts from Sussex Special Collections and The Keep
