LibGuides: Linguistics: Newspapers and Periodicals

Newspapers and Periodicals

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid 18th and 20th centuries. Supports research in History, Literature, Victorian Studies, Genealogy, Fine Arts, Finance/Economics, Political Science, and more. Access to parts 1-4, covering titles from 1732 to 1950.
British Newspapers 1600-1950 This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 3 million pages of historic newspapers, news books & ephemera, National & Regional papers from British Isles.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Guardian and Observer Historical Archive, 1821-2003 This link opens in a new window
A searchable digital archive containing articles from the first issues in 1821 for the Guardian and 1791 for the Observer.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It's mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2012 This link opens in a new window
Searchable, facsimile reproduction of TLS, 1902-2012, including identification of anonymous contributors.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.