LibGuides: Linguistics: Dictionaries and Reference

Reference: World Languages

Enhanced Electronic Grammars Online This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive descriptions of languages from around the world. This Online Reference Work provides access to full individual grammars and also makes these available together, allowing for cross-language research of several grammars simultaneously.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. It has been an active research project for more than 60 years. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue

Green's Dictionary of Slang This link opens in a new window
Green’s Dictionary of Slang is the largest historical dictionary of English slang.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of handbooks covering different subject areas. Provides introductions to key topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable online access to Oxford's unabridged bilingual dictionaries in Chinese, French, German, Italian and Spanish.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.