Zotero

To practice adding a new referencing style, follow the steps below:

1. Ensure the Zotero desktop app is open.
2. Visit the Zotero styles page.
3. Search for the style you need. You can check how the style will display by hovering over it.
4. Click the style and wait for it to install.
5. Go to word and click on “Document Preferences”, select the new style and click OK.

To practice adding citations to a Word document, complete the activity below.

You are going to add 5 citations to your document, one for each of these different item types: a book, a journal article, a book section, a government report and a newspaper article.

(You may need to add one resource of each type to your library first. Try adding them using the web importer. Remember to check and add any missing information.)

Open Word and go to Zotero on the ribbon. Click on “Add/Edit Citations” and add the above items as follows.

• Add citation without page numbers
• Add a citation with page numbers
• Add a citation without the author
• Add a citation using Classic view and page numbers
• Edit a citation and add page numbers

To practice adding multiple citations to a Word document, complete the activity below.

You are going to add 3 citations at the same time.

1. Add 3 citations using 'Classic View'
2. Add 3 citations using the search box
3. Add page numbers to one of your citations
4. Remove a citation

To practice adding a bibliography and updating the details, complete the activity below.

You’ll need to have added citations to the document before continuing (if the Zotero citation search box is open then you won't be able to add a bibliography).

1. Add a bibliography to a Word document.
2. Change the reference style.
3. Update the author and date of a reference in Zotero and then refresh the Word document.

To practice manually editing a bibliography, complete the activity below.

1. Change a detail in your bibliography using the text editor.
2. Make a copy of your document and then unlink the citations.

To practice generating a bibliography from your Zotero library.

You are going to export your library into a formatted bibliography directly from Zotero.

1. Open the Zotero app.
2.  Export your entire library to Word.

If you are working on a document and want to add a bibliography then use 'Copy to Clipboard' and copy and paste into the document.
If you want to create a separate word document with a bibliography then select the 'Save as rtf' option.