Microform Collections
Major Collections
- French Revolution Research Collection
- Historical newspapers - Pall Mall Gazette, Action Francaise and others.
- History of the Cinema (1895-1940)
- Papers from the Mass Observation Archive
- Popular Newspapers During World War 2: Daily Express, Daily Mirror, News of the World, The People and the Sunday Express
- Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers (1934-1970)
- Virginia Woolf Manuscripts
- UK and US radical newspapers from the 19th and early 20th Centuries: The Charter, Northern Liberator, The Masses, The New Masses and others
Microform Collections
Newspaper / Magazine Collections
|
Le Monde |
1944 - 1989 |
|
National Herald |
1962 - 1986 |
|
National Review |
1865 - 1985 |
|
Newsweek |
1968 - 1990 |
|
Northern Star |
1838 - 1852 |
|
Pall Mall Gazette |
1880 - 1892 |
|
Sunday Times |
1976 - 1985 |
|
Time Magazine |
1965 - 1990 |
|
The Times |
2011 onwards |
|
Times Educational Supplement |
1955 - 1988 |
|
Times Higher Education Supplement |
1971 - 2000 |
|
Times Literary Supplement |
2012 - 2018 |
|
Variety Magazine |
1905 - 2006 |
Other Newspaper Collections
The most recent print editions of various UK and international newspapers can be found in the newspapers area, located on the first floor of the library. The newest edition is kept at the front, with older editions stored behind.
A large number of both UK and international newspaper archives can also be viewed online. See the Newspapers Guide for links and full details.
More Archival Resources
The Keep is a world-class centre for archives, located here in Falmer, Brighton. It contains information, archives, resources and multimedia on a vast range of topics, including the Mass Observation Archives project. You can explore these topics on their website, or visit the centre in-person.