LibGuides: Sociology and Criminology: Archives & Historical Resources

Archives and Historical Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
A vast archive of material drawn from hundreds of international and local organizations, documenting important aspects of LGBTQ life from 1940 onwards. Documents include: records and materials produced by LGBTQ rights groups, government briefings, reports and policy statements, surveys and election questionnaires, international news and magazine articles, photographs, interviews and more.
History of Feminism
Access to a collection of primary and secondary source material on the history of feminism in the 19th century, from 1776 to 1928.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Contains an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Mass Observation Online
An archive for the study of Social History in the modern era. Access to the new online material, microfilm series, and physical and digital material in the archive itself.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. Contains colour digital images of archival material sourced from key libraries and organisations in Britain and America. Includes material from the Mass Observation Archive. Search archive at the Mass Observation online
Revolution and Protest Online
Contains a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Brings together documents and collections between 1490 and 2007. Looks at varieties of slavery, its legacy, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Also useful secondary sources; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
Women and Social Movements, International
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.