A resource for students who are training to be teachers. The collection contains children’s and young adult fiction, non-fiction, and poetry books for teaching practice and planning; also practical resources such as textbooks, exam syllabus resources and materials to develop subject knowledge with pupils.
Access to indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods.
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
You can search all the above databases in one using Ebsco Education Databases includes Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Access to a collection of educational databases, including the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Educational Administration Abstracts and ERIC.
Access to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes, Abstracts from hundreds of journals, book reviews and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.
Now known as Humanities Index.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
Times Higher Education (THE) provides analysis and insight on higher education.
In order to gain access, you'll need to register for a personal THE account, which you can then use to log in to the THE website and app. You must register using your full University of Sussex email address (i.e. use @sussex.ac.uk) so that your personal THE account is associated with the University's institutional subscription.
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.