It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Global Horizons journal is a space of representation and recognition, demonstrating the exemplary work produced by undergraduate Global Studies students at the University of Sussex.
Thematically, papers address, generate and disseminate knowledge concerning some of the most pressing global issues of our time – from global inequalities and justice, climate and environmental change, war and peace, and global health, to finance crises, intolerance, and discrimination. Inter-disciplinary by the nature of its diverse contributors, the journal reflects the pedagogical and methodological approach adopted by the School of Global Studies more broadly.
Key Resources for Development Studies
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Provides insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China.
Examines and explains the important political and economic trends in a country. Each Country Report contaisn in-depth and ongoing analysis and forecasts of political, policy and economic conditions in a country
You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
Latin American Newsletters (LatinNews) was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Subscription provides access to Latin American Weekly Report and Latin American Security & Strategic Review.
Publications and datasets, from 1998 to present, released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).
A specialist peer-reviewed and evidence-based online book and journal collection for International Development policy, practice and research professionals. PLEASE NOTE: log in via your UK HE Institution at top-right, choosing Sussex and entering your UoS username and password.
Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
Wilton Park is an executive agency of the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, based in West Sussex. It hosts events that focus on issues of international security, prosperity and justice and brings together senior specialists from the worlds of politics, diplomacy, academia, business, civil society, the military and the media. Reports from their conferences provide summaries of these events, with the main points and conclusions.
Coverage of elections, parties, judiciaries, popular protest, gender relations, the politics of development, and Africa’s international relations as well as major events and figures within African Politics.
Defines critical terms relating to China’s politics since 1949. Covers core political structures, ideologies, and practices. Subjects include charm offensive, cybersecurity, hukou system, Silk Road, and United Nations Peacekeeping Operations.
Over 600 articles on key concepts, conventions, treaties, and developments in international law, forms of government and institutions, historical events, international issues, international organizations and domestic political, economic, and social issues.