Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays.
New
The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers, gray literature—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
New
Access to a wide range of information with a focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century
New
Provides access to a collection focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history
New
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history
New
Offers a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others
New
Now known as English-Corpora
New
Access to 10 Cambridge Companions Online.
New
Includes over 75 publications that originated from college and university campuses and surrounding communities. The collection includes such iconic publications as the Berkeley Barb, The Paper (East Lansing), the Los Angeles Free Press, The Fifth Estate (Detroit) and the East Village Other; collectively the founding members of the Underground Press Syndicate.
New
Contains a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.
New

Thousands of documents and bibliographic records concerning Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals, the Caribbean and Atlantic world. Covers early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

New
The Coronavirus Corpus is designed to be the definitive record of the social, cultural, and economic impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) in 2020 and beyond.
New
An archive of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.
New
Brings together publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, from testing issues, to stimulus payments, to the quest for a vaccine
New
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.
New
Contains the personal and political papers of J.T. Murphy, which cover a wide range of subjects, from his imprisonment in 1925 and campaign to become a Member of Parliament to his travels in post-revolutionary Russia and disagreements with the CPGB leadership. Documents detailing his wife Molly's time as a nurse on the frontlines of the Spanish Civil War are also included. Together, these materials provide an invaluable insight into the internal debates that plagued the British and European left during the 1920s and 1930s
New
Consists of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
New
Designed to provide a window into this uniquely American story. Series 15 contains 160 immigrant papers, many of which are considered the most important 19th-century publications of this genre. Complementing these and providing valuable context are traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions.
New
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.
New
Access to over 200 Law ebooks published by Edward Elgar
New
Features comprehensive descriptions of languages from around the world.
New
Provides a comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. It has been an active research project for more than 60 years. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue
New
A complete online, fully searchable facsimile, the Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016* delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue.
New
Food Studies Online provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
New
The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Collection holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.
New
Records of the Communist Party of Great Britain's Womens' Department, the archive shows how certain segments of the CPGB came to embrace some of the concerns of the women's liberation movement, highlighting communist involvement in campaigns related to abortion law, employment rights, and the whole gamut of feminist politics
New
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
New
Green’s Dictionary of Slang is the largest historical dictionary of English slang.
New
Contains the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition)
New
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
New
Enables researchers to explore the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through an archive of official government documents spanning three centuries.
New
Provides access to the bills brought forward in the House of Lords
New
House of Lords Parliamentary Papers encompass wide areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, providing evidence of committees and commissions during a time when the Lords in the United Kingdom wielded considerable power.
New
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
Trial
A comprehensive collection of UK industry market research and industry risk ratings. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts and Brexit Impact Reports.
New
Provides access to a UK daily national newspaper launched in 1986. Its freedom from party political affiliation and neutral ownership make it unique in British journalism
New
Provides access to the 1st and 4th Editions of Samuel Johnson's Dictionary
New
Offers a free, easy-to-use browser plugin that helps save time accessing full-text journal articles by bringing your institutional subscriptions as well as open access content into your workflow at your point of need.
New
Oxford Law Trove facilitates a rounded and complete study of law. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in your own institution’s library collection. For the first time Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s textbook law list.
New
Contains 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, including the Advocate and Gay Times
New
Contains an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
New
New
Contains more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts, aiming to be a virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin Literature: epic and lyric poetry, history, travel, philosophy and oratory, medical writers and mathematicians, and the Church Fathers who make particular use of pagan culture.
New
Provides a collection of 96 books, written by leading names in the field, covering political evens, ideas, movements, roles of government, voters, parties and leaders and the way that these elelments shape society as a whole.
New
Delivers a rich source of scholarship on cultural encounters between the coloniser and colonised, the circulation of power through the production and organisation of colonial knowledge, and the construction of identity both at the heart and on the margins of empire.
New
Part of the Global Issues Library, this curated database provides a rare breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries.
New
The Mass Observation Project was launched in 1981 by the University of Sussex as a rebirth of the original 1937 Mass Observation. Its founders' aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting volunteers to write about their lives and opinions. Still growing, it is one of the most important sources available for qualitative social data in the UK.
New
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
New
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century.
New
Includes plays that range over the most popular genres of its 80-year time span. There are comedies and melodramas, Revolutionary and Civil War dramas, plays with all-women and all-black casts, temperance plays, and plays for children for school and home entertainment, as well as many plays written by women.
New
A collection handbooks covering different subject areas. Provides introductions to key topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
New
24 extended articles on various aspects of criminology
New
Oxford Law Trove facilitates a rounded and complete study of law. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in your own institution’s library collection. For the first time Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s textbook law list.
New
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias contain peer-reviewed, long-form overview articles written and edited by leading scholars. The Encyclopedias are intended to be regularly updated, with new articles and topics being added and authors updating their existing articles.
New
Provides a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
New
A specialist peer-reviewed and evidence-based online book and journal collection for International Development policy, practice and research professionals. PLEASE NOTE: log in via your UK HE Institution at top-right, choosing Sussex and entering your UoS username and password.
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations.
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New
Brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
New
PEP has been designed to provide a powerful rapid search of the entire psychoanalytic literature in English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Romanian, Spanish and Turkish.
New
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
New
Contains a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements.
New
Provides access to a range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. Included are interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences.
New
These high-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, like David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey.
New
Supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 250+ hours of structured online learning.
New
Digitised version of Samuel Johnson's famous dictionary.
New
Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history.
New
Contains a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity.
New
The South Asia Archive provides an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences.
Focusing on South Asia, the Archive contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications.
New
Provides access to Plantation records concerning Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
New
Times Higher Education (THE) provides analysis and insight on higher education.
New
The ETU ballot-rigging trial was a case brought to the High Court by prominent union members John Thomas Byrne and Frank Chapple in 1961. They alleged that members of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB) had engaged in "a conspiracy to defraud" in the most recent elections of the Electrical Trades Union (ETU), a relatively successful body that represented electricians, wire fitters, and telephone engineers. The judge ultimately ruled in the plaintiffs' favour.

This collection contains verbatim transcripts of the court case. The transcripts provide a unique insight into the CPGB’s influence in the post-war trade union movement.
New

Documents women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, links to other websites, and other ephemera.

New
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
New
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...