Key Resources for Engineering and Design
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- Alexander Street Press Video Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, current set of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
- ICE Virtual Library Archive This link opens in a new windowContains every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) between 1836 and 2001. More than 18,000 illustrated papers on subjects related to civil engineering and construction by leading British or British-trained engineers. Subjects include civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, maritime engineering, architecture and transportation.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics.
- Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new windowYou can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
- Science This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science and social sciences such as economics, management and business.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural; Environmental Sciences.
- Synthesis This link opens in a new windowAn information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The University has access to collections I to V.
- Taylor & Francis Journals Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Patents and Standards
- The European Patent OfficeIncludes a wide range of patent related information
- International Organization for Standardization (ISO)Information about the work of ISO and standards generally.
- PatentsServices and holdings at the British Library.
- Trademarks and DesignsServices and holdings at the British Library.
- The United Kingdom Patent OfficeThe Patent Office site containing links to the Patent database.
- United States Patent and Trademark OfficeInformation on U.S. patents and trademarks, including details of relevant U.S. and International legislation