This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Music

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • British Humanities Index (BHI)
    An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
  • British Library Archival Sound Recordings
    Sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive covering music, the spoken word and human and natural environments.

    You will need to select log in via your home institution, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
  • British Periodicals
    Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
  • Gramophone
    A magazine devoted to classical music, particularly recordings.
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • Oxford History of Western Music
    Oxford History of Western Music is considered a landmark study on western music by prominent musicologist Richard Taruskin. It also links directly to relevant entries in Oxford Music Online. Starts with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago, and moves across hundreds of years of musical invention and its interaction with culture, politics and art.
  • Oxford Music Online (Includes Grove Music Online)
    Enables users to access and search Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
  • Periodicals Archive Online
    Provides access to the full text of hundreds of journal archives. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas and multiple languages.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Provides a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world.
  • Rock's Backpages
    Contains an archive of music journalism including video interviews with artists, reviews of concerts and albums and covering all genres of popular music from the 1950s to the present day, from Abba to Zappa. It includes articles from publications like Rolling Stone, MOJO, NME and Melody Maker, as well as major newspapers.
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip