This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/mathematics Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Mathematics

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • arXiv
    Open access to over 880,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
  • Duke University Press Journals Online
    Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences—from East Asian cultural studies to French history, from lesbian and gay studies to mathematics and the history of economic thought, from feminism, culture and media studies to medieval and early modern studies.
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • MathSciNet
    A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications.
  • Science
    The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contains full text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science, plus social sciences such as economics, management and business
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • SpringerLink
    Provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works, primarily in Science, Technology and Medicine
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Societies

The following websites may contain information that is useful for your studies. However, the Library will not necessarily have access to all of the journals provided by these organisations. Some of the materials that you are asked to pay for through these websites may also be freely available to you through the databases listed above. Please check.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip