Last Updated: Feb 12, 2016
Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.
The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.
The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Allows the user to view or listen to over 1 million TV and radio programmes, record from 60+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more
- CIA World Factbook
Information and statistics on the countries of the world.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
- Mass Observation Online
Offers access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. This digital project is a multi-facteted resource, offering integrated access to the new online material, existing microfilm series, and the Mass-Observation Archive itself, allowing the user options to search across the entire Archive or by material available digitally.
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Political Science ebooks Collection
Access to ebooks on subjects including American politics, European Union, international relations, political economy and Russian politics.
- Sage Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.