- America: History & Life with Full Text
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, providing full text access to articles. The database provides access to 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Archives Hub
National gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges. Fully searchable.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers not only British and Irish domestic history, but also the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth.
- British Humanities Index (BHI)
Now known as Humanities Index.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
- British Library Archival Sound Recordings
Sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive covering music, the spoken word and human and natural environments.
You will need to select log in via your home institution, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
- British Online Archives
Provides online access to several primary source collections on the history of the Atlantic world.
British Online Archives includes:
– British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900
– Colonial & missionary records
– Records of the Raj
– People & Protest in Britain and Abroad, 1800-2000
– Twentieth century politics
– World War One: Different Perspectives
– British Broadcasting Corporation
- British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Cabinet Papers 1915-1978
Digitised and fully searchable records of the British Cabinet from 1915-78.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Contains more than 250 volumes covering histories of the US and Britain, as well as more general areas covering economics, politics, religion, music, literary studies and language.
- Connected Histories
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
- Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 illustrated biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
- Early English Books online (EEBO) via Historical Texts
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Fully searchable.
- Early European Books Online
Provides access to a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
- Eighteenth Century Journals Online
Brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates and London coffee house gossip and discussion
- Electronic Enlightenment
Electronic Enlightenment brings the past to life through its web of correspondence, based on critical editions of primary sources. Electronic Enlightenment lets the user eavesdrop on politicians and poets, physicians and philosophers, engineers and explorers, bankers and booksellers, clockmakers and colonists, scientists and musicians.
- Frontier Life
Through a large array of unique documents, this multi-archive collection captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. It ranges across the various colonial frontiers of North America before touching on the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- History Vault
Contains primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America Collections. The Civil Rights modules features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. The World War II module includes formerly confidential reports of U.S. diplomats and military officers on planning, operations, intelligence, Axis war crimes, and refugees.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Provide the most detailed primary source for 20th and 21st century Britain, its colonies and the wider world. They are a major part of the historical record. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers, among them Marconi, Keynes, and Beveridge. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
- Independent Voices
Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
- Mass Observation Online
Offers access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. This digital project is a multi-facteted resource, offering integrated access to the new online material, existing microfilm series, and the Mass-Observation Archive itself, allowing the user options to search across the entire Archive or by material available digitally.
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Online
Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It's mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
- State Papers Online
Access to State Papers starting with the Tudors in 1509, up to the end of the reign of Queen Anne, finishing in 1714.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900
Citations for articles from 45 monthly and quarterly periodicals of the Victorian era, with links to the full text of journals in British Periodicals I and II. Particularly relevant for those studying literature, history and Victorian life; also covers articles on politics, religion, women's writing, economics, art, science, archaeology and philosophy.