Last Updated: May 2, 2017
Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.
The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.
The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Allows the user to view or listen to over 1 million TV and radio programmes, record from 60+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more
- Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection
Maps and map data of Great Britain from the Ordnance Survey Data Collection and from Historic Digimap. Registration required.
Access to an independent online newspaper, aiming to support European democracy by giving people the information they need to hold the EU establishment to account.
- Historic Digimap
provides access to the valuable historic Ordnance Survey map collection online. The maps are digital scans of Ordnance Survey paper map sheets.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
Provides satellite image mosaics of Landsat, SPOT and ERS radar data and a high resolution Digital Elevation Model for the British Isles. Requires registration.
- Migration to New Worlds
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Allows you to search for articles in journals published by Nature Publishing Group.
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 to the current day.
Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
Provides digitised boundary datasets of the UK, available in many Geographic Information System (GIS) formats.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.