This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Engineering and Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering and Design  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Engineering and Design

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • British Standards Online (BSOL)
    Access to:
    GBM01 module of BSOL. Contains 8888 and 8887 plus all related standards (943 standards).
  • ICE Virtual Library Archive
    Contains every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) between 1836 and 2001. The archive contains more than 18,000 illustrated papers on subjects related to civil engineering and construction by almost every leading British or British-trained engineer that ever lived. Subjects include civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, maritime engineering, architecture and transportation.
  • IEEE Xplore
    IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
  • Safari Books Online
    Provides e-books from the publishers specializing in computer application user and training manuals
  • ScienceDirect
    Contains full text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science, plus social sciences such as economics, management and business
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Synthesis
    Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science contains 50- to 100-page lectures synthesizing an important research or development topic, organized by series.
  • Taylor & Francis Journals Online
    Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
  • Zetoc Electronic Table of Contents
    Contains details of approximately 20,000 current journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. With almost 15 million article and conference records, the database covers every imaginable subject in science, technology, medicine, engineering, business, law, finance.

Other Resources

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip