This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Education

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
    ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
  • Box of Broadcasts (BoB)  
      
    Allows the user to view or listen to over 1 million TV and radio programmes, record from 60+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more
  • British Education Index (BEI)
    The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.
    Note: BEI has moved from the proquest platform to Ebsco.
  • Education-line
    A collection of free full text documents which are relevant to the study, practice and administration of education at a professional level.
  • Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
    Provides extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • Project Muse
    Provides access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Search SAGE journal articles.
  • Sage Research Methods Online
    SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip