This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Childhood and Youth Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Childhood and Youth Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/cys Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Other Useful Guides

Key Resources for Childhood and Youth Studies

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
    ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
  • British Education Index (BEI)
    The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.
    Note: BEI has moved from the proquest platform to Ebsco.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
    International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • Project Muse
    Provides access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
  • Sage Research Methods Online
    SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Social Care Online (SCIE)
    The UK's most extensive free database of social care information, including everything from research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites.

Key Resources for other subject areas

To search the Key Resources from other disciplines, select from the list of subject guides below.

  • Anthropology
    Contains links for key anthropology resources including AnthroSource and Ethnographic Video Online.
  • Education
    Contains links for key education resources including the British Education Index.
  • History
    Contains a wide range of resources for history, including several archives.
  • Law
    To search for UK legislation and case law, use the databases listed under the "Subject resources" tab. These include Lawtel, Lexis and Westlaw.
  • Social Work and Social Care
    Contains links for key resources for social work including Social Care Online,
    the UK's largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email
 

Childhood

This box contains links to recent articles from the journal Childhood:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Journal of Youth Studies

This box contains links recent articles from the Journal of Youth Studies:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Children and Society

This box contains links to recent articles from the journal Children and Society:

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip