Subject Guide Image
Academic Sources: Journal Collections
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch RSC journals, including the flagship journal Chemical Communications.
- ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the journals of the American Chemical Society.
- Nature This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search for articles in journals published by Nature Publishing Group.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, current set of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
- Royal Society Journals This link opens in a new windowPublishes seven journals, covering the breadth of the biological and physical sciences, as well as the history and philosophy of science.
- Science This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary.
Reaxys
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA database of chemical compound properties, structures and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry. Includes Beilstein Organic Chemistry Reactions, Gmelin Inorganic Chemistry and Patent Chemistry.
Beilstein Organic Chemistry Reactions
From 1771 (abstracts from 1980) contains over 9.6 million organic compounds, many with property data, and over 10 million reactions. Includes pharmacology, toxicology and ecological chemistry data
Gmelin Inorganic Chemistry
From 1700s contains over 2.4 million inorganic and organometallic compounds, 1.8 million reactions and 1.2 million references covers information about analytical chemistry, atomic physics, ores, chemical technology, electrochemistry, geochemistry, history of chemistry, colloid chemistry, coordination chemistry, corrosion and passivity, crystallography, geology, metallography, metallurgy, mineralogy, non-ferrous metals, physical properties (crystallographic, mechanical, optical, magnetic, electrical), toxicity and hazards, economic and statistical data.
Patent Chemistry
Selected organic chemistry patent publications (1869 -1980) US, World and European patents from 1976 for Patent classes: Organic Chemistry, Medicinal Preparations, Biocides, Agrochemicals and Dyes
Academic Sources: Multidisciplinary
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science and social sciences such as economics, management and business.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural; Environmental Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
ChemDraw
- ChemDraw PrimeDrawing tool for chemists to create publication-ready, scientifically intelligent drawings for use in ELNs, databases and publications and for querying chemical databases.
Installing
The university has an academic site license for ChemDraw Standard, which covers installation on all university workstations and allows staff and students to download a copy for use on personally owned equipment.
- Windows users download via the Software Hub
- Mac users request a home use activation code via this page