This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Biology and Environmental Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology and Environmental Sciences  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Biology and Environmental Sciences

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • BioMed Central Journals
    BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
  • JSTOR Biological Sciences
    A collection of scholarly journal archives relating to the Biological Sciences
  • Nature
    Allows you to search for articles in journals published by Nature Publishing Group.
  • Royal Society Journals
    Publishes seven journals, covering the breadth of the biological and physical sciences, as well as the history and philosophy of science.
  • Science
    The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contains full text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science, plus social sciences such as economics, management and business
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Springer Earth and Environmental Science ebook Collection
    A collection of Earth and Environmental Science ebooks published by Springer between 2005 and 2013.
  • Taylor & Francis Journals Online
    Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Other Resources

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip