This is the "Key Resources" page of the "English Language and Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Language and Linguistics  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/EnglishLanguageLinguistics Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for English Language and Linguistics

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • Box of Broadcasts (BoB)  
      
    Allows the user to view or listen to over 1 million TV and radio programmes, record from 60+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more
  • Guardian and Observer Historical Archive, 1821-2003
    A searchable digital archive containing articles from the first issues in 1821 for the Guardian and 1791 for the Observer.
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Provides a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • Nexis
    A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
  • Project Muse
    Provides access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
  • PsycArticles
    Access to full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 23,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip